Have you ever heard a song play on your radio, ipod, record player, etc. that was just what you wanted or needed to hear? Its a magic moment, when synchronicity shows her face and you know once again you are not insignificant but part of a bigger picture or story that matters. I had that magic moment today…my iPhone “creative” playlist was going and the song “Heaven” by Paul Wright came on. My attention was drawn to the most memorable line of the song “we don’t need long hair forever, no, no…” Now, I’d been thinking the last couple days that it was time for a haircut – hence the magic moment when I heard my favorite line. Yes! It is time for a haircut, and I’ll even do it myself I’m so inspired (no joke, LOL)!

And yet, before I could get out the scissors, my latent curiosity took over and I decided it would be a good idea to look up the lyrics to this song. I mean, I’d made up a story in my head on why this line could be in a song about heaven but I wanted to see all the lyrics to get the real picture. So to google I went.

Lo and behold! There wasn’t anything about long hair, short hair, or any kind of hair in the lyrics of this song! Instead I read “we don’t belong here forever, no, no…” Huh. I listened to the song again and there it was, I could finally hear the original intent of the song and could also see how I had misconstrued the words because of how they were sung.

Now what? My incorrect view of the song had created an alternate universe for a wonderfully magic moment. For me, that still exists and I am going to cut my hair. And, at the same time I now see and hear the original intent of the song and now hold a new meaning for what this song is about. I’ve read the lyrics and have a new appreciation for the song writer. I also have spent some time thinking about heaven and what I think it will be like, what I hope it will be like. This, then has provided some more magic moments for me.

I’m reminded of how I, and I dare say others, have made meaning out of what we have seen and heard in our lives that has served us very well. These ways of seeing or interpreting life can be called mental models:

“Mental models are deeply ingrained assumptions, generalizations, or even pictures or images that influence how we understand the world and how we take action.” The Fifth Discipline, The Art and Practice of the Learning Organization, Senge, (Doubleday: 1990) (from http://www.pimaregionalsupport.org/systems/glossary.htm)

These mental models can also be skewed or incorrect as illustrated by my own story. My hair example is a “light” version of some of the mental models I have had. Some more deeply ingrained ones have been much more challenging to not only define but to examine and/or change. I’ll save these for some later posts.

For now, I hope you enjoyed the story and you’ve had a chance to think about a few of your own ways of seeing the world that have provided humor and laughter in your life. This story today had me cracking up enough to inspire me to write this blog post. 🙂

For you curious types here are the lyrics for Paul Wright’s song “Heaven”:

Heaven
Right around the corner
I want to know what it’s like to be in heaven
Looking back on my life having answers to my questions
Cuz we don’t belong here forever
No no we don’t belong here

And we’ll be dancing, singing, bringing our praise
By lifting our voices to Jesus
There’ll be no more crying, lying or dying when you and I are in heaven
I want to know what it’s like to live forever
Embraced by the light of knowing you better Lord
Cuz we don’t belong here forever no no we don’t belong here
We we we gonna be dancing, singing,
Lifting our voices to Jesus
Take me home
I want to go home
I want to be in heaven just singing and dancing and praising and living forever
© 2005 Gotee Records

I’m off to go cut my hair…wish me luck!

Update (2.5 hrs later): Mission accomplished!

//

